TESTIMONIALS

WHAT OTHERS ARE SAYING

One Extraordinary Idea. Ten Extraordinary Years. The Best is Yet to Come…

The Dr. Tom Method

“I passed the Civil Geotechnical PE Exam with a score of 79. Thank you for providing excellent tools for taking the test. It really was the best method to help me prepare well. I will be telling my colleagues about your course and how well it worked for me. Thanks again!”
– PE, Texas

“I participated in the 20-Week Review class for the Civil: Water Resources and Environmental exam. All of the hours put into studying and developing the materials following the Dr. Tom method paid off as I passed the Exam. One of the critical items to my success was understanding the test taking method of taking multiple passes and not allowing myself to become to hung up on any one question. Taking the 20 weeks to absorb the material and develop organized references I believe was also critical to my success. I will recommend anyone taking the test in the future to use the Dr. Tom courses, they were worth both my monetary and time investments.” 
– Chris Bakey, PE, Cochranville, Pennsylvania

“Just wanted to let you know that I successfully passed the Mechanical: Machine Design and Materials exam on my second attempt.  I went in much more confident and I can thank your class for that.  The binders that we made from the class proved to be a lifesaver and I was able to answer most of the questions simply from them alone.  This saved a ton of time as I wasn’t constantly flipping through the MERM and the other mountains of books desperately looking for an answer or random equation.  

I feel like the biggest advantage that your class brings to the table is that you structure all of the information you need in a way that is much easier to find.  I feel that any competent engineer should be able to answer just about every question the PE throws at them if given enough time, but the exam forces you to be fast and efficient.  Even if you are the most well-versed engineer in the world if you don’t have a method in place to quickly find the equation or topic that you are looking for it can make for a really tough test day. I will definitely recommend your class to peers who are considering taking the PE in the future. Thanks for everything!”
– Brandon F., PE, Dallas, Texas

“Dr. Tom’s methodical approach to preparing for the PE exam helped me to get and stay organized from the very beginning. The extra practice and challenge problems were an excellent compliment to the SMS problems, NCEES practice exam, and MERM. I have no doubt that this class ensured my success on the exam on my first attempt.”
– Nicole DiFidi, P.E., Boise, ID

“I PASSED!!!! Your step by step course really did make all the difference! This was my third attempt at taking this thing. The first time I took an in-person PPI study course, a lot of theory, not great with the problem practice. The second time I tried to study on my own…not good. And my third time I found you and your course! Thank you so much for everything! I took the HVAC & Refrigeration exam. I used the EDC & PRN binders created through the course for almost every problem. I didn’t even crack open the MERM accept for a couple random off the wall problems. The ASHRAE books also came in useful for a couple problems. But honestly your course and teaching method really made the difference for me! I knew I had to get all the “Low Hanging Fruit” and especially any problems that were “On the Ground, Rotting!” 

I followed your advice and made sure not to get stuck and did a first time through just scanning and picking up the problems I felt most comfortable answering first. Your class was really great because I felt like in every video, you genuinely and sincerely wanted to help us pass this test. Like all great teachers and mentors you made me not want to disappoint you, even though I’d never really talked with you directly. You are an excellent teacher and the course is one of the most reasonably priced course I could find and discovering that it was also so amazing was really a pleasant surprise.     

I think the new test format definitely helped me as well. There were no problems on the topics I new least about (dynamics, statics, machines) being an HVAC mechanical designer by trade. I think it reduced the breadth of knowledge that I needed to know to pass. 

I want to thank you so much for everything. Thanks Again!!! I will definitely recommend your course to others I know who are considering taking the test! “ 
– Erica Kerr, PE, North Las Vegas, Nevada

“I just received notification that I passed the Machine Design and Materials PE October exam!  Dr. Tom’s Classroom was instrumental in my success.  Each week is very well organized and left me with virtually no questions as I worked through the syllabus.  Throughout the course there is a lot time spent on organization of your Personalized Resource Notebooks but believe me, the time spent is well worth it come exam day.  I found Dr. Tom’s Exam Day Companion especially useful during the exam in quickly finding the equations I needed to work the problems.  I also can’t tell you how many problems I was able to solve using the MERM index.  Dr. Tom’s lesson videos were excellent.  The pace was perfect and the material covered was exactly what I needed to work the majority of the problems on the exam.  It is very important that you work or attempt to work the challenge problems yourself each week before watching the solution videos.  I highly recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom to prepare you for the PE exam! “
– Robert Strong, PE, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“My journey to passing the Mechanical PE Exam started in October 2014 when I took the exam for the first time.  I was a little naive and too optimistic in my preparation approach.  I figured with some familiarity with the MERM and other reference books, that would be enough to pass.  I had a harsh reality check on exam day and realized that passing the PE exam was going to take more diligence in studying, practicing problems and being better organized with reference material.  Oddly enough when preparing for the October 2014 PE Exam, I came across Dr. Tom’s YouTube channel and actually took some screen shots of his Slider Crank example which turned out to be an identical problem on the exam. 

When I decided to take the exam for the 2nd time, I decided to research Dr. Tom’s website because of the experience I had with his YouTube channel.  After researching Dr. Tom’s website, I knew I needed his help to pass.  I went through his 20 Week course in preparation for the April 2017 exam and I can’t even begin to explain how useful his course was in my preparation.  The course offers a structured day by day study plan, tons of reference material, guidelines for creating and organizing reference binders, and on-line quizzes and tests.  More importantly, the course helps with problem identification which is KEY in passing the exam.  You have 6 minutes/problem so you can’t waste time.  Being able to identify what the problem is asking, knowing where to find the right equation and having practice in solving problems is what Dr. Tom’s course is all about.  The harsh reality is Dr. Tom’s course really can’t prepare you for every subject that may show up.  In fact I doubt any course out there will have the ability to effectively cover every possible subject.  To that end and due to other variables, I was one of those statistics that didn’t pass the 2nd time.  I was crushed, defeated, and upset.  I thought for sure I would pass because of the time and effort I put into preparing.  I wasn’t upset with Dr. Tom because there were problems on the exam that I was able to solve only because of things I learned in the course.  There were problems on the exam that were almost identical to sample problems provided in the course. 

Even though I felt defeated, I knew I had to give it 1 more try because the information was still fresh in my mind and I knew more areas where I was weak.  I went through Dr. Tom’s course 1 more time in preparation for the October 2017 exam and actually learned more things that I didn’t learn the first time.  I went into the October 2017 exam and stayed true to the exam day strategy which is something you learn in the course.  That strategy along with the many things you get out of the course is what finally led me to success in passing.  Again there were problems in the October 2017 exam that I was only able to solve because of information I acquired from Dr. Tom’s course.  The journey was painful and luckily I had Dr. Tom to help me along that journey.  The course offered by Dr. Tom is worth it.  You will be ready to attack the exam after taking his course.  Confidence and preparation are huge when going into the exam and Dr. Tom’s course will give you that confidence and preparation.  Thank you Dr. Tom!”
– Dan, PE, Farmington, Utah

“Dr. Tom,  I wanted to give feedback that I hope will be appreciated. I had taken the preparation course for last April exam. I changed jobs shortly thereafter and conducted a move (I am using this as an excuse.. Ha!)  I took the exam shortly after completing move and let myself get in a panic. Many of the problems had units where the problem had already input gc into notation without stating slugs and the pump problems were mainly in ft-lbf/lbm and I was not on the ball to quickly realize this as same magnitude as feet of head and fell for it…and completely messed up unit conversion… With the new job, I didn’t have much time to study, and was only able to review two weeks before the october exam. However, armed with the method you taught before and the organizational tools from your course that I still had in possession, I passed on my second try. My problem the first time was nerves and lack of confidence mainly because of so much going on at the same time in my life.   If I had not taken your course though, I may have given up with the first try. The 3 weeks prior to the second attempt I mainly practiced your taught method and didn’t work any new types of problems. I was completely calm in the second exam and passed. I attribute the success to calming myself with the discipline and time management learned in your course and prep work I had done previously with the personal reference manual composed and the indexed reference binder you supplied. THE DOCTOR TOM method works!!  I just needed to apply it and keep a cool head. Anyway, I just wanted to say thank you. Your course was the best. I am extremely grateful. Your course was the reason I passed when I did. And, not completely adhering to the method and staying calm was the reason I failed the first time.”
– A. Hill, PE, Arkansas

“Dr Tom’s was an invaluable program. I’ve been out of school for over 20 years and needed to re-learn a lot of the material. His teaching style took very complex concepts and laid the material out in a straight forward fashion with a systematic approach to solve the problems. His methodology gave me structure for studying that I would not have been able to achieve on my own.  His organizational approach to the reference material was a huge time saver and assistance during the exam. Thank you Dr Tom for putting a great program together.”  
– Lori Van der Voort, PE, Abington, Pennsylvania

“As a repeat exam taker, I felt like I was prepared the first time I took the exam, but very inefficient. I had to look through multiple books for formulas and conversion factors which resulted in wasting very valuable time. With the Dr. Tom method on the second, I had 75-80% of the necessary formulas, conversions, and charts/graphs right in front of me. I also understood the importance of not dwelling on any one single problem for to long which also hurt me in the first attempt. With a little luck and some good fortune, I passed on the second attempt. Thanks to Dr. Tom and his staff for helping me achieve this career and personal goal.”
  – Phillip Scrimpshire, Thompson’s Welding Services, Hamilton, Mississippi

“From my personal experience, the PE exam is not a measure of your academic or professional intuitiveness. It’s simply a test where a bunch of engineers decide to sit and make up tests based solely on their own experiences. So there’s no distinct way to prep or study for it. I thank Dr. Tom a lot because somehow he’s been able to decode this myth. My advice is to pay very close attention to every word of his – regardless of what you’ve been taught in college or at work. The goal isn’t to learn how to solve problems or help you with your profession. The goal is to pass the PE test. Unless you have limitless resources (funds and time), Dr. Tom will show you those “low hanging fruits” and those “practices he has minimum regards for.” You don’t have to waste your time with all these other Internet tutors claiming to help you pass in 30 days. They’re a waste of time and money. In Dr. Tom’s classroom, you will definitely pass the PE. I can testify to this.”
  – Eche, PE, Richmond, VA

“Dr. Tom’s 20-week course is the reason that I passed the PE. If I had chosen to study on my own, there would be no chance I’d pass. There are so many strong points to this course I cannot name them all, but I will list my favorites. The week to week structure of the course kept me on track, so I did not run out of time days before the exam. Dr. Tom’s constant reminders for ‘units, units, units’ are invaluable. Before the course started, my unit conversions were almost nowhere to be seen. Now I live and breathe units. On the participant forum, his quick and clear responses to my questions helped me at times I was stuck. Getting stuck during studying is ok, but not on the exam. Dr Tom’s advice to ‘never get stuck’ allowed me to keep my pacing with the 8 hours of time allotted. I felt confident using my PRNs, especially my Thermodynamics and Fluids PRNs. The Exam Day Companion was also a great reference when my PRNs were lacking. Surprisingly, I did not use the MERM as much as I anticipated. However, the index was quite useful, as Dr. Tom states. I’m sure I got at least a few points just by looking in the index. Thermal and Fluid Systems was my depth choice and I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone choosing the same.”
– Stephen E. Kreidler, PE, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“The structure and support that I received from Dr. Tom’s Classroom was paramount to my success during the exam. The exam strategies provided by Dr. Tom coupled with the Exam Day Companion kept me focused during the exam, allowing me to scoop up as much “low hanging fruit” as I could on my way to passing. I initially was more comfortable with the prospect of taking the Mechanical Systems portion of the exam, however after hearing Dr. Tom’s pitch for the Thermal Fluids portion of the exam, I switched gears, and I could not have been more pleased with the results.

The instruction provided by Dr. Tom helped to calm my nerves about the exam as well as build confidence in my ability to pass. He told us that the purpose of the PE exam wasn’t to measure your value as an engineer, but rather just your ability to pass this specific test. I truly appreciate the efforts put forth by Dr. Tom and all others that make this review possible.

Being that there is less focus on the Mechanical PE exam vs the Civil PE exam, I was happy to find people who cared about me and my success on the exam. I have had several colleagues ask me how I prepared for the exam, and even though they are Civil engineer’s, I tell them about Dr. Tom’s Classroom, the structure and support it provided, and tell them to find a review course like it. Without hesitation, I would tell any ME preparing for the PE exam to start with Dr. Tom’s Classroom.”
– Chris, PE, Toms River, New Jersey

“I knew I wanted my P.E. license long before I was eligible to take the exam. I’ve never been a great test taker. I definitely didn’t graduate at the top of my class. I always had a problem with the time limits imposed on me in college exams and knew that the P.E. was going to be no different. 

When I got my four years of engineering experience, I immediately started looking at the resources available for me to prepare for the exam.  I came across Dr. Lindberg’s Mechanical Engineering Reference Manual and immediately saw that I had a lot of information to cover in order to be prepared.  I wasn’t even sure where to begin. I didn’t know which pm exam was right for me. The one thing I did know was what it felt like to fail an NCEES exam. I was one of the statistically low number of “first time takers” who didn’t pass the F.E when I was fresh out of college. This would be my first try at the P.E. exam, and I really wanted it to be my only try.

After looking at all my options, I decided that a prep course would be the best option for me. I liked having a structure and liked the idea of being helped by people who dedicate themselves to helping guys like me pass exams. Many of the prep course options seemed a little impersonal to me and offered very few samples of the course content that they offer. I noticed Dr. Tom was much more generous with his content and explained himself very clearly. I was pretty much sold after I saw his videos on exam strategy. No one else was offering anything close as far as free content goes. It’s also hard to go wrong with a southerner. ; )

Dr. Tom’s course had a solid plan and he was always available to answer questions. His course requires a lot of time and work, but he was there with us every step of the way. By the time exam day came around, I was very prepared and felt I had a realistic chance of passing this exam. I had no idea what the NCEES would ask me, but I knew I had a strong foundation to face what was coming.

I took the exam using Dr. Tom’s strategy and was able to finish with enough time to check my work in both the AM and PM portions of the exam. Nothing was able to calm the nervousness that I felt waiting on my exam results, but I did leave feeling like I at least had a fair chance of passing. After weeks of waiting nervously, I got my results and found out I passed. The pressure has been lifted and I’m excited to move on with my career and personal life. 

I would recommend this course to any mechanical engineer who is serious about giving themselves the best chance possible to pass the P.E. exam.”
– Brian, PE, Taylor Machine Works, Starkville, Mississippi

“Dr. Tom’s 20-week review course was very helpful at breaking down the mountain of information that is Mechanical Engineering into small bite-sized pieces. I had taken the PE twice before, and my biggest concern was problem identification and time management. I knew that these two strategies are critical to passing. On previous exams, I often times would not be able to quickly identify the question type and, therefore, wouldn’t know how to begin to solve it. I believe this was the main reason I did not pass before, and the other review course I took did not help out much with that. 

It was apparent early on in Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review course that problem identification was one of the main focuses. With the way the course topics were divided, as well as with use of the Personalized Resource Notebooks, I was able to identify problem types significantly faster than before. I believe this was the main reason I passed. Dr. Tom seems to really care about his students and course attendees, and I’m grateful his devotion has lead to such an effective review course. Dr. Tom’s course was much more effective than the other review course I took, and I would recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam, without a doubt.”
– William Allred, PE, LEED AP BD+C, RS&H, Merritt Island, Florida

“My biggest concern was where to begin and how to organize all of the information, and relearning the topics in time. Dr. Tom guided us with a cookbook method of organizing the info and provided a test day companion that concisely summarized most of the reference info in one notebook. He defined for us the number of hours needed for prep. I felt that Dr. Tom saw everything from the test takers point of view. He was always very respectful, dedicated and personable. You will not find anyone else more committed. I would most definitely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam. It was very helpful, but Dr. Tom can’t do it all. If a student wants to pass on the first try, they need to put in the 250-300 hrs of quality prep time that Dr. Tom recommends.”
– Patrick P. PE, 25 yrs out of college

“Dr. Tom’s PE Review Course was incredibly helpful in my test preparation. The course helped me to prepare for the test by not only providing lessons in a variety of exam topics, but also by providing tips and practice on how to solve exam problems. In the weekly classes, Dr. Tom provided multiple example problems in a number of exam topics, as well as instructions and suggestions on how to approach different types of problems. The weekly lessons, class problems, and extra weekly problems, combined with Dr. Tom’s suggestions, tips, and step by step instructions on how to solve test problems, helped to give me the tools that I needed to pass the PE Exam.”
– Krystyn Wagner, PE, Wake Forest, North Carolina

DTC Course Focus

“I am 100% confident saying that without your course, I wouldn’t have succeeded with a first-time go. With my work and home life demands, I needed a prep course that told me how, what, and when to study.  DTC was perfect in that regard. I walked into my study sessions daily not having to worry about what needed to be accomplished. I was nervous at first about taking DTC because of all the other more expensive courses, like PPI or School of PE, thinking the more expensive the better, but I was obviously wrong.  Keep doing great things for future candidates!”

– CPT Chandler Alford, PE, United States Army, Seattle, WA

“Dr. Tom’s classroom is ideal for professionals with challenging work-loads. The structured classes that focus only on the information vital to passing the test save valuable time studying topics that are unlikely to be included in the test.”

– Nick Viviano, Black & Veatch, Overland Park, KS

“I was getting nowhere trying to prepare on my own. I bought some references and materials and attempted to work through them, but my confidence suffered. I felt like I forgot what I learned as soon as I moved on to another topic. Dr. Tom helped me focus my efforts, cutting out things not likely to impact the test. I truly enjoyed Dr. Tom’s online presence and encouragement. His approach built my confidence steadily from beginning to end. I passed on my first try – 51 years old, military veteran, and 29 years since I passed the EIT exam.  Even if I hadn’t passed, I was sure that my chances would be good with more effort using Dr. Tom’s approach.

– Andrew Miller, PE

“The most valuable aspect of the course for me was that Dr. Tom provides a finite range of material to study, so that I did not have to guess about what might be on the exam. That alone was worth the price of the course. It also helped me to have the structure of the course to follow. Dr. Tom and staff, thank you so much for all of your help.”

– John Gravitt, PE     

“The structure of the course worked well for me. My concerns revolved around the spectrum of topics to review. While it seems overwhelming, it was nice to focus on the topics in one week “chunks” and to have the decisions already made for me as to what to study, when to work on it and targeted problems and chapters already noted. And the suggested organization for reference material was much appreciated.. This allowed me to set aside some anxiety as to topics of greater importance. I would recommend the course to others.”

– Walt Herbert, PE, Baldor Electric Company (A member of the ABB Group), Greenville, SC

“If you are an ME looking for a PE review course, look no farther. Initially I didn’t think I needed a review course, and on my first attempt too much of my self directed study time was spent studying high challenge low probability material or material that wouldn’t even be on the exam at all. Dr. Tom provided strategy, guidance and clarity on what to expect on the exam as well as well organized high quality review material and videos. I retook the exam and breezed through it. My advice, if you are going to devote that much of your time to studying, spend the money for the review course. If I could go back in time I would spend 10 times the cost of the review course to take it from the start. I have no doubt I would have passed the exam the first time if I had taken Dr. Tom’s review course. Don’t spend 400 hours kicking yourself for trying to save a few dollars, just take the course. After all, how much is your time worth to you?”

– Brad Townsend, P.E., MAJ USA

“Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review helped immensely. I had taken a different review course previously, but didn’t pass. I was unsure if another review course would help. I liked Dr. Tom’s course because he provided test taking tips specific to the P.E. exam. This was key for me. Dr. Tom is very committed and genuinely interested in helping you pass.”

  – John Kilgore, PE, Mantech, Huntsville, AL

“Being nearly 20 years out of college, I was VERY intimidated to attempt the PE exam. I can say with absolute certainty that Dr. Tom’s review course was the key to my success. The organized approach (study schedule, practice problem selection, and reference binder structure) allowed me to focus on learning the content for the exam instead of wasting time trying to figure those out on my own and just studying the MERM. I was doubtful that I could get back up to speed on so many of the subjects that I spent years studying in college, but it worked! Doing, not merely watching is the key for me.” 

-Brent V., PE, Houston, Texas

“I finally passed the PE exam! I give credit to Dr. Tom and his course. I lacked organization. We all know the vast material to cover, but I needed someone to help me focus on the major exam topics. Dr. Tom did a great job in addressing the key topics. Comparing other PE Exam preparation courses I have taken, Dr. Tom’s course was very organized and concise and focused. Dr. Tom was very committed, and I think he enjoyed it and liked helping us achieve this goal. I would definitely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review.”

– South Carolina PE

“Dr. Tom’s course was essential to my success. I required ‘substantial’ review to say the least, and in attempting to review on my own resulted in an unrealistic scope of work with no clear path for studying. With Dr. Tom’s course I finally found a solid starting point and could stop spinning my wheels. I was concerned about what to study and what not to study. Dr Tom addressed these concerns directly and explicitly, problem by problem, lecture by lecture. The course carried me through to the very end allowing me to focus only the relevant and most important PE exam content. With his help, I passed on my first attempt. I would recommend for this course. Dr Tom’s course content alone is worth the price, but the real value for me came from having a rock solid structure that I know is absolutely tailored for the PE exam. 

– Tommy S. PE, Las Vegas, NV

“Dr. Tom’s class helped me immensely. Before beginning the process, I really worried how I would fare with academia I had neglected for the better part of 10 years or how I would manage the necessary study time with all my other obligations. Through use of Dr. Tom’s syllabus, I was able to focus my studies to those subjects necessary for successful examination versus blindly studying the MERM page by page. All in all, dedication to the process and study of the appropriate material is necessary for success, but the support of Dr. Tom’s prep course gets at least part of the credit for my success. I would recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom to anyone interested in successfully navigating through PE examination preparation. Thanks Dr. Tom!

– R. Neal Grainger P.E., NC State ’02, BSCHE, Wilmington, NC

“I took the PE exam for the first time and passed. I feel Dr. Tom’s class was not only very critical in my passing of the exam but it was exactly what I was looking for in a review course. It was very daunting in the beginning because the exam can cover so many topics – many of which I have limited knowledge and background. Dr. Tom’s class laid out the important subjects and gave me a guide to be successful. I would recommend this class to anyone taking any of the mechanical PE exams. Thanks for all your help Dr. Tom!”

– Britt, PE, Alexandria, VA

DTC Course Structure

“With DTC’s help I finally passed the Civil PE exam after several previous attempts! The organization of the course material helped me out tremendously.”
– PE, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

“Dr. Tom’s prep course provided the structure and the solid foundation I needed to pass the Thermal Fluids PE exam.  Learning to quickly identify the type of problem and using Dr. Tom’s back-to-basics approach to problem solving helped ease some of my concerns of taking the exam and feel confident in my ability to do well.  I’ve used an in-class prep course before with no success.  The quality, exam day references provided, exam day tips and confidence in Dr. Tom’s program makes it easy for me to recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom to others I know preparing for the PE exam.  Thanks for getting me over the hump and helping to accomplish a major goal of mine!” 
– Clint A., P.E., Tulsa, Oklahoma

“If you don’t read my entire testimonial – here is the “bottom line upfront:” Look no further!

Like many other folks, I had previously taken the Mechanical PE exam without a great deal of structure.  In fact, after two unsuccessful attempts in the mid 1990’s – I placed professional registration on hold – uncertain if I would ever try again.  However, with life and work ever-changing, it became clear that professional registration would be a benefit. 

Needless to say – I passed the Mechanical Thermal/Fluids exam and a great deal of credit goes to Dr. Tom and the course.  If you work the program, watch the lectures, do the problems, participate in the weekly discussions, prepare the personalized resource notebooks, and use the participant forum…..you will pass the exam.  This structure, organization, and commitment are why this program is so successful and I will be recommending this to my colleagues. Thank you Dr. Tom and your entire staff.”
  – Neil Martin, PE (LTC (Retired – US Army)),  Veolia Water Technologies, Naperville, Illinois

“The 20-Week course was instrumental for me to successfully pass the Thermal & Fluids Systems exam. The weekly lesson plans gave me a structured plan for me to study, otherwise I’ll meander all over the MERM. Since it was an online course, was concerned about getting answers to questions about the assigned problems, Dr. Tom has forum and most of my questions were already asked by other students. Dr. Tom broke the problems down to the fundamentals for me to understand. I would recommend this course to others.”
– Tommy, PE, Pomona, CA

“Dr. Tom’s 20-week course is the reason that I passed the PE. If I had chosen to study on my own, there would be no chance I’d pass. There are so many strong points to this course I cannot name them all, but I will list my favorites. The week to week structure of the course kept me on track, so I did not run out of time days before the exam. Dr. Tom’s constant reminders for ‘units, units, units’ are invaluable. Before the course started, my unit conversions were almost nowhere to be seen. Now I live and breathe units. On the participant forum, his quick and clear responses to my questions helped me at times I was stuck. Getting stuck during studying is ok, but not on the exam. Dr Tom’s advice to ‘never get stuck’ allowed me to keep my pacing with the 8 hours of time allotted. I felt confident using my PRNs, especially my Thermodynamics and Fluids PRNs. The Exam Day Companion was also a great reference when my PRNs were lacking. Surprisingly, I did not use the MERM as much as I anticipated. However, the index was quite useful, as Dr. Tom states. I’m sure I got at least a few points just by looking in the index. Thermal and Fluid Systems was my depth choice and I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone choosing the same.”
– Stephen E. Kreidler, PE, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“Dr. Tom’s 20 Week course helped me learn everything I needed to pass the Mechanical: Thermal & Fluid Systems exam on the first try.  He did a better job of explaining the material better than most of my professors.  He was always very friendly and easy to understand. The best part about the 20 Week review is that you develop a weekly schedule of what you need to work on. Material is not crammed into a 3 or 4 week review like some other PE courses. With the 20 week review, you gradually rebuild and strengthen what you learned in college so you can take on the PE exam with confidence. The Exam Day Companion is worth it’s weight in gold! I have already recommended my coworker to the course and he will be starting it this Spring and I will encourage other ME’s to take the course. It was also the cheapest course I was able to find.  I just wish I could shake Dr. Tom’s hand and tell him thank you for everything!”
– Michael Noll, PE, Delmar Systems in Houston, Texas

“I passed the April 2015 exam, after failing the exam for the first time in October 2014, 7 years after graduating from NC State. Both times I took the HVAC and Refrigeration exam, as that is the field in which I am working. The first time I took the exam I studied on my own, primarily going through the MERM mostly and not working enough problems. The second time, I followed Dr. Tom’s 20-Week online only study plan as closely as I could with some modification due to my schedule. The structure that his lessons and accompanying problems provided was very helpful in refreshing my understanding of the concepts in each topic presented. There were even a few of his example problems in the April exam, so those problems were much easier to navigate. 

I did start out a little late with the review course, and I had to catch up, but I was able to stay on target week after week after that. On the exam, I found that I didn’t use the DTEC as much as the PRNs, however both were useful. All in all, having the information organized was a great help! 

I told my uncle who is an ME NC State grad about the review course I was taking and mentioned Dr. Tom. He said that Dr. Tom taught him Statics during his time at school in the mid to late 1980’s, and that I should do very well, given his insistence about always using units to help solve problems. I found that Dr. Tom’s explanation and break down of the conversions was also helpful in learning how to work through the problems.

Overall, going into the April exam I felt very much more prepared than the first time taking it in October. In fact, the April exam seemed “easier,” which I can accredit to using Dr. Tom’s review course. Dr. Tom, thank you for your course and the passion that you display while teaching it.”
– Ryan Crawford, PE, Mebane, North Carolina

“I feel like Dr Tom’s class was instrumental in helping me pass. When I attempted a few years ago, I bought the MERM and my goal then was to read each chapter and work the problems. I started for a few weeks and gave up. After being out of college for 10 years, I needed a tool to help me get back to being motivated on the subject matter. How I used my time wisely to study was a major concern for me. I work a job and have other commitments that requires 60-80 hours a week of my time. Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Online Only review course quickly got me on task and provided the study plan I was looking for to pass the exam. The structure and repetition of the online review put me in the frame of mind to concentrate on studying. From the beginning, Dr Tom lays out what’s going to be required to pass the exam. I found that extremely helpful. Knowing what kind of commitment you need to pass and reviewing the structure of the exam laid out the foundation for each of the next weeks programs. The weekly guides on how to manage your study week provided a nice checklist. Having multiple lessons and problems to review each week gave a full depth of knowledge on each of the subjects required in the exam. The passion Dr. Tom has to help people succeed on the exam shows in each of his lessons. He is very detailed and explains every part of the problem, providing practical questions/answers using real world applications. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Tom’s review course! It’s perfect for someone looking for help to push them along and keep them dedicated on studying to pass the exam.”
– Adam Sippel, PE, Brady Sales and Services, Raleigh, North Carolina

“I highly recommend anyone contemplating the ME PE exam consider Dr. Tom’s 20 week PE Review Course. I passed the exam on my first try in April 2014 after completing the online-only course over the winter. Dr. Tom’s Exam Day Companion was my main (almost exclusive) reference. I only used the Mechanical Engineering Review Manual for its tables and figures. In fact, these were the only two books I opened during the entire exam. I’m sure many candidates have passed without the level of support Dr. Tom provides. Unfortunately, at 20 years out of school, I needed a structure to optimize my time studying. Dr. Tom’s course provided all that and more.”
– Jim Haddock, PE, B&V, Overland Park, Kansas

“Dr. Tom’s review course was essential to me passing the PE Exam. He took the time before the course to help me decide which exam to take. With his guidance I decided to take the mechanical systems exam based on my background in mechanical design. His review course provided the structure I needed to focus my attention on the subjects that were tested and he was always there to answer questions if I was having difficulties. I think one of the best things about the course is how it firmed up the basic engineering principles for me. That alone has helped me a lot with my job. Dr. Tom’s course along with lots of study was my ticket to passing the exam on my first try! He is a great teacher, and I would highly recommend his course to anyone taking the Mechanical PE Exam.”
– Justin McNeel, PE, Beaumont, Texas

DTC Course Materials

“Just wanted to let you know that I successfully passed the Mechanical: Machine Design and Materials exam on my second attempt.  I went in much more confident and I can thank your class for that.  The binders that we made from the class proved to be a lifesaver and I was able to answer most of the questions simply from them alone.  This saved a ton of time as I wasn’t constantly flipping through the MERM and the other mountains of books desperately looking for an answer or random equation.  

I feel like the biggest advantage that your class brings to the table is that you structure all of the information you need in a way that is much easier to find.  I feel that any competent engineer should be able to answer just about every question the PE throws at them if given enough time, but the exam forces you to be fast and efficient.  Even if you are the most well-versed engineer in the world if you don’t have a method in place to quickly find the equation or topic that you are looking for it can make for a really tough test day. I will definitely recommend your class to peers who are considering taking the PE in the future. Thanks for everything!”
– Brandon F., PE, Dallas, Texas

“I just received notification that I passed the Machine Design and Materials PE October exam!  Dr. Tom’s Classroom was instrumental in my success.  Each week is very well organized and left me with virtually no questions as I worked through the syllabus.  Throughout the course there is a lot time spent on organization of your Personalized Resource Notebooks but believe me, the time spent is well worth it come exam day.  I found Dr. Tom’s Exam Day Companion especially useful during the exam in quickly finding the equations I needed to work the problems.  I also can’t tell you how many problems I was able to solve using the MERM index.  Dr. Tom’s lesson videos were excellent.  The pace was perfect and the material covered was exactly what I needed to work the majority of the problems on the exam.  It is very important that you work or attempt to work the challenge problems yourself each week before watching the solution videos.  I highly recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom to prepare you for the PE exam! “
– Robert Strong, PE, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“This was my first attempt and first review course, but thankfully Dr. Tom’s Classroom helped me pass on the first attempt. It’s been over 8 years since I graduated and was concerned about re-learning concepts that I do not use in my daily work. Dr. Tom has done a great job establishing a curriculum focused on passing the exam. His 20-week course provided a thorough review of thermal fluids and engineering concepts. Dr. Tom enjoys teaching and it’s evident through his enthusiasm during each video. It was always refreshing to be greeted with his enthusiasm. The elements of the review course that I found most beneficial were the Exam Day Companion (EDC) and practice problems which were compiled into personal reference notebooks (PRNs). The EDC was my first reference during the exam and provided the equations and concepts needed for the majority of exam day questions. He presented problems each week from the Six Minute Solutions, NCEES Practice Exam as well as his own problems. The instructional videos that accompanied many of the problems were key to understanding some of the difficult concepts. The weekly study plans were very useful in planning my weekly studying. The problems, videos and study plans were vital to reinforce the concepts learned each week and were very helpful to prioritize my studying each week while working full-time. I also found the Participant Forum to be a useful tool to post questions and see other students questions and concerns throughout the 20 weeks. All of the questions I posted were answered by Dr. Tom within a day.”
– Chris F, PE – Westinghouse Electric Company – Irmo, South Carolina

“Dr. Tom’s 20 Week course helped me learn everything I needed to pass the Mechanical: Thermal & Fluid Systems exam on the first try.  He did a better job of explaining the material better than most of my professors.  He was always very friendly and easy to understand. The best part about the 20 Week review is that you develop a weekly schedule of what you need to work on. Material is not crammed into a 3 or 4 week review like some other PE courses. With the 20 week review, you gradually rebuild and strengthen what you learned in college so you can take on the PE exam with confidence. The Exam Day Companion is worth it’s weight in gold! I have already recommended my coworker to the course and he will be starting it this Spring and I will encourage other ME’s to take the course. It was also the cheapest course I was able to find.  I just wish I could shake Dr. Tom’s hand and tell him thank you for everything!”
– Michael Noll, PE, Delmar Systems in Houston, Texas

“I passed with an 84%! I am convinced that without Dr. Tom’s Classroom I would not have done nearly as well and there’s a good chance I would not have passed. I was very impressed with the material Dr. Tom covered, how he focused on what we needed to know for the exam (not the theory), and how open he and his staff were to any questions or problems I had throughout the courses. I highly recommend that anybody who is planning to take the PE take Dr. Tom’s Classroom review courses and follow his study outline.”
– Amy C., PE, Houston, Texas

Support & Teaching

“I PASSED!!!! Your step by step course really did make all the difference! This was my third attempt at taking this thing. The first time I took an in-person PPI study course, a lot of theory, not great with the problem practice. The second time I tried to study on my own…not good. And my third time I found you and your course! Thank you so much for everything! I took the HVAC & Refrigeration exam. I used the EDC & PRN binders created through the course for almost every problem. I didn’t even crack open the MERM accept for a couple random off the wall problems. The ASHRAE books also came in useful for a couple problems. But honestly your course and teaching method really made the difference for me! I knew I had to get all the “Low Hanging Fruit” and especially any problems that were “On the Ground, Rotting!” 

I followed your advice and made sure not to get stuck and did a first time through just scanning and picking up the problems I felt most comfortable answering first. Your class was really great because I felt like in every video, you genuinely and sincerely wanted to help us pass this test. Like all great teachers and mentors you made me not want to disappoint you, even though I’d never really talked with you directly. You are an excellent teacher and the course is one of the most reasonably priced course I could find and discovering that it was also so amazing was really a pleasant surprise.     

I think the new test format definitely helped me as well. There were no problems on the topics I new least about (dynamics, statics, machines) being an HVAC mechanical designer by trade. I think it reduced the breadth of knowledge that I needed to know to pass. 

I want to thank you so much for everything. Thanks Again!!! I will definitely recommend your course to others I know who are considering taking the test! “ 
– Erica Kerr, PE, North Las Vegas, Nevada

“Dr Tom’s was an invaluable program. I’ve been out of school for over 20 years and needed to re-learn a lot of the material. His teaching style took very complex concepts and laid the material out in a straight forward fashion with a systematic approach to solve the problems. His methodology gave me structure for studying that I would not have been able to achieve on my own.  His organizational approach to the reference material was a huge time saver and assistance during the exam. Thank you Dr Tom for putting a great program together.”  
– Lori Van der Voort, PE, Abington, Pennsylvania

“This was my first attempt and first review course, but thankfully Dr. Tom’s Classroom helped me pass on the first attempt. It’s been over 8 years since I graduated and was concerned about re-learning concepts that I do not use in my daily work. Dr. Tom has done a great job establishing a curriculum focused on passing the exam. His 20-week course provided a thorough review of thermal fluids and engineering concepts. Dr. Tom enjoys teaching and it’s evident through his enthusiasm during each video. It was always refreshing to be greeted with his enthusiasm. The elements of the review course that I found most beneficial were the Exam Day Companion (EDC) and practice problems which were compiled into personal reference notebooks (PRNs). The EDC was my first reference during the exam and provided the equations and concepts needed for the majority of exam day questions. He presented problems each week from the Six Minute Solutions, NCEES Practice Exam as well as his own problems. The instructional videos that accompanied many of the problems were key to understanding some of the difficult concepts. The weekly study plans were very useful in planning my weekly studying. The problems, videos and study plans were vital to reinforce the concepts learned each week and were very helpful to prioritize my studying each week while working full-time. I also found the Participant Forum to be a useful tool to post questions and see other students questions and concerns throughout the 20 weeks. All of the questions I posted were answered by Dr. Tom within a day.”
– Chris F, PE – Westinghouse Electric Company – Irmo, South Carolina

“I thought the Fast Track Review Course was excellent.  It provided the structure, practice, and review that I needed 25 years after receiving my M.E. degree.  I loved Dr. Tom’s teaching – his style & strategy tips made the learning process very enjoyable.  The class format and hand-outs were also excellent.  I  would strongly recommend it to others taking the ME PE exam.”
– Joel Lemke, PE, Emerson, Chanhassen, Minnesot

“Dr. Tom, thank you very much for your course and your passion for teaching.  I do not think I would have passed without you.”
– Mark Zimmerhanzel, PE

“From my personal experience, the PE exam is not a measure of your academic or professional intuitiveness. It’s simply a test where a bunch of engineers decide to sit and make up tests based solely on their own experiences. So there’s no distinct way to prep or study for it. I thank Dr. Tom a lot because somehow he’s been able to decode this myth. My advice is to pay very close attention to every word of his – regardless of what you’ve been taught in college or at work. The goal isn’t to learn how to solve problems or help you with your profession. The goal is to pass the PE test. Unless you have limitless resources (funds and time), Dr. Tom will show you those “low hanging fruits” and those “practices he has minimum regards for.” You don’t have to waste your time with all these other Internet tutors claiming to help you pass in 30 days. They’re a waste of time and money. In Dr. Tom’s classroom, you will definitely pass the PE. I can testify to this.”
  – Eche, PE, Richmond, VA

“The 20-Week course was instrumental for me to successfully pass the Thermal & Fluids Systems exam. The weekly lesson plans gave me a structured plan for me to study, otherwise I’ll meander all over the MERM. Since it was an online course, was concerned about getting answers to questions about the assigned problems, Dr. Tom has forum and most of my questions were already asked by other students. Dr. Tom broke the problems down to the fundamentals for me to understand. I would recommend this course to others.”
– Tommy, PE, Pomona, CA

“Dr. Tom’s 20-week course is the reason that I passed the PE. If I had chosen to study on my own, there would be no chance I’d pass. There are so many strong points to this course I cannot name them all, but I will list my favorites. The week to week structure of the course kept me on track, so I did not run out of time days before the exam. Dr. Tom’s constant reminders for ‘units, units, units’ are invaluable. Before the course started, my unit conversions were almost nowhere to be seen. Now I live and breathe units. On the participant forum, his quick and clear responses to my questions helped me at times I was stuck. Getting stuck during studying is ok, but not on the exam. Dr Tom’s advice to ‘never get stuck’ allowed me to keep my pacing with the 8 hours of time allotted. I felt confident using my PRNs, especially my Thermodynamics and Fluids PRNs. The Exam Day Companion was also a great reference when my PRNs were lacking. Surprisingly, I did not use the MERM as much as I anticipated. However, the index was quite useful, as Dr. Tom states. I’m sure I got at least a few points just by looking in the index. Thermal and Fluid Systems was my depth choice and I would absolutely recommend this course to anyone choosing the same.”
– Stephen E. Kreidler, PE, Tulsa, Oklahoma

“Dr. Tom’s 20 Week course helped me learn everything I needed to pass the Mechanical: Thermal & Fluid Systems exam on the first try.  He did a better job of explaining the material better than most of my professors.  He was always very friendly and easy to understand. The best part about the 20 Week review is that you develop a weekly schedule of what you need to work on. Material is not crammed into a 3 or 4 week review like some other PE courses. With the 20 week review, you gradually rebuild and strengthen what you learned in college so you can take on the PE exam with confidence. The Exam Day Companion is worth it’s weight in gold! I have already recommended my coworker to the course and he will be starting it this Spring and I will encourage other ME’s to take the course. It was also the cheapest course I was able to find.  I just wish I could shake Dr. Tom’s hand and tell him thank you for everything!”
– Michael Noll, PE, Delmar Systems in Houston, Texas

“I’m 10 years out of school with 3 kids under 3 and a full time job in project management. DTC gave me a plan, helped me prioritize the key areas of study, not get bogged down into too much subject-matter detail, and spend my time effectively. The PRN’s were most helpful. I think the structured approach of developing them, organizing them, ensuring you have material for everything was key to success. Due to all the work put in in developing them, I did not end up using them much during the exam because I knew most of the material off-hand. That being the key to passing. I also liked the flexibility of video on demand. Most of my studying was done late at night. Watching Dr Tom’s YouTube videos on how to approach the exam, he recommends the Thermo/Fluids test. I was very weak in Thermodynamics in school. Learning thermodynamics well enough to pass a test when I had such little foundation to build on was a big concern. Dr Tom’s approach to thermodynamics and his ability to explain things very clear and concise was a huuuuge help! The thermo questions on the test were cake. Dr. Tom’s teaching is humorous and relatable. I loved how Dr Tom would explain the theory, and then relate it to why/how it’s actually useful…. So helpful when learning. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam. It’s priced right, and has great content.”
– Lance Way, PE, Chevron Phillips Chemical, Texas

“I’ve been out of school for 17 years, but felt increasingly compelled to pursue the PE. Once my exam application was accepted I knew that finding a study resource was critical for me. I’m a father with two young children and a demanding job. I wasn’t going to be able to commit hours mid-day or on the weekend to studying. I found the Dr. Tom course after researching PE exam study aids. The initial testimonials grabbed my attention, and after watching your exam strategy videos I felt instantly confident that this was the right program for me. The structure and organization provided by the course, your frank commentary on what or what not to study, your logic for taking the thermal/fluids pm concentration, and your comforting demeanor in the videos were all critical in my success. I can’t comment on any other study programs out there, but I can say with complete certainty that the Dr. Tom program ensured my ability to pass the exam. I can’t thank you enough!”
– Aaron John Tippie, PE, Westwood Professional Services, Inc., San Antonio, Texas

“The structure and support that I received from Dr. Tom’s Classroom was paramount to my success during the exam. The exam strategies provided by Dr. Tom coupled with the Exam Day Companion kept me focused during the exam, allowing me to scoop up as much “low hanging fruit” as I could on my way to passing. I initially was more comfortable with the prospect of taking the Mechanical Systems portion of the exam, however after hearing Dr. Tom’s pitch for the Thermal Fluids portion of the exam, I switched gears, and I could not have been more pleased with the results.

The instruction provided by Dr. Tom helped to calm my nerves about the exam as well as build confidence in my ability to pass. He told us that the purpose of the PE exam wasn’t to measure your value as an engineer, but rather just your ability to pass this specific test. I truly appreciate the efforts put forth by Dr. Tom and all others that make this review possible.

Being that there is less focus on the Mechanical PE exam vs the Civil PE exam, I was happy to find people who cared about me and my success on the exam. I have had several colleagues ask me how I prepared for the exam, and even though they are Civil engineer’s, I tell them about Dr. Tom’s Classroom, the structure and support it provided, and tell them to find a review course like it. Without hesitation, I would tell any ME preparing for the PE exam to start with Dr. Tom’s Classroom.”
– Chris, PE, Toms River, New Jersey

“The most valuable aspect of the course for me was that Dr. Tom provides a finite range of material to study, so that I did not have to guess about what might be on the exam. That alone was worth the price of the course. It also helped me to have the structure of the course to follow. I am a teacher myself, and I recognize that Dr. Tom is personally invested in the success of his students. He puts a lot of thought and work into providing good instruction. Dr. Tom and staff, thank you so much for all of your help.”
– John Gravitt, PE,  Pennsylvania

“Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review helped immensely. I had taken a different review course previously, but didn’t pass. I was unsure if another review course would help. I liked Dr. Tom’s course because he provided test taking tips specific to the P.E. exam. His review helped me to focus on the afternoon portion of the test. This was key for me. Dr. Tom is very committed and genuinely interested in helping you pass.”
– John Kilgore, PE, Mantech, Huntsville, Alabama

“Students can always spot a teacher that cares about their success, and it’s apparent with Dr. Tom. It’s obvious that Dr. Tom has many years of teaching experience, and his lessons are well planned and communicated. There is no magic bullet for passing this exam, but if you’re willing to put in the work, the 20-Week course is invaluable.”
– Michael Kruse, PE, Florida

“It had been 18 years since I graduated with my BSME, and I knew I had a huge challenge ahead of me to review and re-learn all the necessary material. I had tried just studying from the “big blue book,” and I had looked into other review courses as well. I chose Dr. Tom having seen how he presented material in his sample videos. Once I began the course, I knew I had made the right decision. Dr. Tom will focus your study on what you need to know, he will take the time to explain those elements which are challenging, and he will be there all the way through to exam day. The materials that Dr. Tom provides are invaluable during the exam! I honestly believe that I could not have passed the exam without Dr. Tom’s teaching, guidance and strategy. Dr. Tom should be your #1 resource for exam preparation!”
– Mike R., PE, Atlanta, GA

“I passed the April 2015 exam, after failing the exam for the first time in October 2014, 7 years after graduating from NC State. Both times I took the HVAC and Refrigeration exam, as that is the field in which I am working. The first time I took the exam I studied on my own, primarily going through the MERM mostly and not working enough problems. The second time, I followed Dr. Tom’s 20-Week online only study plan as closely as I could with some modification due to my schedule. The structure that his lessons and accompanying problems provided was very helpful in refreshing my understanding of the concepts in each topic presented. There were even a few of his example problems in the April exam, so those problems were much easier to navigate. 

I did start out a little late with the review course, and I had to catch up, but I was able to stay on target week after week after that. On the exam, I found that I didn’t use the DTEC as much as the PRNs, however both were useful. All in all, having the information organized was a great help! 

I told my uncle who is an ME NC State grad about the review course I was taking and mentioned Dr. Tom. He said that Dr. Tom taught him Statics during his time at school in the mid to late 1980’s, and that I should do very well, given his insistence about always using units to help solve problems. I found that Dr. Tom’s explanation and break down of the conversions was also helpful in learning how to work through the problems.

Overall, going into the April exam I felt very much more prepared than the first time taking it in October. In fact, the April exam seemed “easier,” which I can accredit to using Dr. Tom’s review course. Dr. Tom, thank you for your course and the passion that you display while teaching it.”
– Ryan Crawford, PE, Mebane, North Carolina

“The structure of the course worked well for me. My concerns revolved around the spectrum of topics to review. While it seems overwhelming, it was nice to focus on the topics in one week “chunks” and to have the decisions already made for me as to what to study, when to work on it and targeted problems and chapters already noted. This allowed me to set aside some anxiety as to topics of greater importance. I specifically found the unit conversions and references to material in the MERM helpful, and the suggested organization for reference material was much appreciated. 

Dr. Tom’s level of commitment was easily displayed by his videos. The extra effort taken to purposely break down the steps, equations and unit conversions was beneficial to me. Also, adding the background commentary to real-world problems that he encountered was an added bonus. It was nice to hear about real-life usage of the topics being discussed. I would recommend the course to others.”
– Walt Herbert, PE, Baldor Electric Company (A member of the ABB Group), Greenville, South Carolina

“My experience with Dr. Tom’s practical focus on application of engineering principles in an undergraduate course at NC State University allowed me to make an easy choice in Mechanical Engineering PE exam preparation courses. His no-nonsense approach coupled with a wide-ranging experience and clear explanations validated my pick and was undoubtedly a key factor leading to my passing score on the Thermal/Fluids exam. The well-structured course format provides and organized progression through the review material and the resources provided were key in my ability to efficiently work through the exam.  The MERM and Dr. Tom’s Exam Day Companion were the two references I used for about 90% of the problems. With better than competitive prices, effective teaching ability, and proven results, Dr. Tom’s Classroom is undeniably the best value in Mechanical Engineering PE exam preparation, thanks Dr. Tom!”
– Andrew Lipetzky, PE, Duke Energy, New Hill, NC

“Dr. Tom’s 20-Week review was immensely helpful towards my success on the PE exam. I realized early on that I would not be able to maintain a studying schedule on my own and am glad I took his course. My other main concern was being able to understand the concepts well enough to be quickly understand what the exam problems were asking. The online lessons were the especially helpful because they explained concepts that can be confusing in other resources (like the MERM) or difficult to review on your own. The lessons are easy to follow, and Dr. Tom’s teaching style gets right to the point. He teaches you what you need to know and what not to waste time on. His dedication is obvious and he makes an effort to answer every question. I would recommend this class for those who like to take their time studying and especially for those who need a good refresher course, but it’s up to you to put in the effort.”
– Angela McNeely, PE, Overland Park, KS

“I knew I wanted my P.E. license long before I was eligible to take the exam. I’ve never been a great test taker. I definitely didn’t graduate at the top of my class. I always had a problem with the time limits imposed on me in college exams and knew that the P.E. was going to be no different. 

When I got my four years of engineering experience, I immediately started looking at the resources available for me to prepare for the exam.  I came across Dr. Lindberg’s Mechanical Engineering Reference Manual and immediately saw that I had a lot of information to cover in order to be prepared.  I wasn’t even sure where to begin. I didn’t know which pm exam was right for me. The one thing I did know was what it felt like to fail an NCEES exam. I was one of the statistically low number of “first time takers” who didn’t pass the F.E when I was fresh out of college. This would be my first try at the P.E. exam, and I really wanted it to be my only try.

After looking at all my options, I decided that a prep course would be the best option for me. I liked having a structure and liked the idea of being helped by people who dedicate themselves to helping guys like me pass exams. Many of the prep course options seemed a little impersonal to me and offered very few samples of the course content that they offer. I noticed Dr. Tom was much more generous with his content and explained himself very clearly. I was pretty much sold after I saw his videos on exam strategy. No one else was offering anything close as far as free content goes. It’s also hard to go wrong with a southerner. ; )

Dr. Tom’s course had a solid plan and he was always available to answer questions. His course requires a lot of time and work, but he was there with us every step of the way. By the time exam day came around, I was very prepared and felt I had a realistic chance of passing this exam. I had no idea what the NCEES would ask me, but I knew I had a strong foundation to face what was coming.

I took the exam using Dr. Tom’s strategy and was able to finish with enough time to check my work in both the AM and PM portions of the exam. Nothing was able to calm the nervousness that I felt waiting on my exam results, but I did leave feeling like I at least had a fair chance of passing. After weeks of waiting nervously, I got my results and found out I passed. The pressure has been lifted and I’m excited to move on with my career and personal life. 

I would recommend this course to any mechanical engineer who is serious about giving themselves the best chance possible to pass the P.E. exam.”
– Brian, PE, Taylor Machine Works, Starkville, Mississippi

“I finally passed the PE exam! I give credit to Dr. Tom and his course. His assistance and being patient with my questions helped guide me in my study and achieving this goal. I was hesitant to take the Thermal/Fluids exam because I didn’t have the background in Thermo. Then I found Dr. Tom’s course and his exam analysis to take the Thermal/Fluids exam convinced me. So I took the leap of faith and it was the right choice.

I lacked organization. We all know the vast material to cover, but I needed someone to help me focus on the major exam topics. Dr. Tom did a great job in addressing the key topics. Comparing other PE Exam preparation courses I have taken, Dr. Tom’s course was very organized and concise and focused. Dr. Tom was very committed, and I think he enjoyed it and liked helping us achieve this goal. I would definitely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review.”
– South Carolina PE

“Dr. Tom’s 20-week review course was very helpful at breaking down the mountain of information that is Mechanical Engineering into small bite-sized pieces. I had taken the PE twice before, and my biggest concern was problem identification and time management. I knew that these two strategies are critical to passing. On previous exams, I often times would not be able to quickly identify the question type and, therefore, wouldn’t know how to begin to solve it. I believe this was the main reason I did not pass before, and the other review course I took did not help out much with that. 

It was apparent early on in Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review course that problem identification was one of the main focuses. With the way the course topics were divided, as well as with use of the Personalized Resource Notebooks, I was able to identify problem types significantly faster than before. I believe this was the main reason I passed. Dr. Tom seems to really care about his students and course attendees, and I’m grateful his devotion has lead to such an effective review course. Dr. Tom’s course was much more effective than the other review course I took, and I would recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam, without a doubt.”
– William Allred, PE, LEED AP BD+C, RS&H, Merritt Island, Florida

“Preparing to take the PE exam 20+ years out of an undergraduate program is a daunting task. What information is relevant? What strategy should one follow? Perhaps most importantly, where does one begin? I was happy to find Dr. Tom’s course as it provided me with a more relaxed window of study (20 weeks) necessary to focus on relearning and practicing lost knowledge. The courses are concise, and his notebooks contain the necessary formulas with just enough background information for wide-ranging applicability. The way in which Dr. Tom organizes the material is particularly useful when it comes to exam day where you’ll want to minimize time spent searching in favor of maximizing solution time. This course, coupled with some practice examinations will ensure your success.”
– Scott Rapoport, PhD, PE, San Diego, California

“Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review was absolutely critical to my success on the Exam. After being out of school over 11 years, I couldn’t have done it without a review course. I considered other review courses, but felt that Dr. Tom’s would be much more personal. Dr. Tom does a great job giving every student the personalized help that they need. His teaching was excellent, and his commitment my success was top notch! I wasn’t sure which exam to take, and Dr. Tom covers that well. The class was a great review for the PE and also very helpful in just getting back up to speed on some topics. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to anyone preparing for the ME PE Exam!”
– Adam Jones, PE

“I passed with an 84%! I am convinced that without Dr. Tom’s Classroom I would not have done nearly as well and there’s a good chance I would not have passed. I was very impressed with the material Dr. Tom covered, how he focused on what we needed to know for the exam (not the theory), and how open he and his staff were to any questions or problems I had throughout the courses. I highly recommend that anybody who is planning to take the PE take Dr. Tom’s Classroom review courses and follow his study outline.”
– Amy C., PE, Houston, Texas

“My biggest concern was where to begin and how to organize all of the information, and relearning the topics in time. Dr. Tom guided us with a cookbook method of organizing the info and provided a test day companion that concisely summarized most of the reference info in one notebook. He defined for us the number of hours needed for prep. I felt that Dr. Tom saw everything from the test takers point of view. He was always very respectful, dedicated and personable. You will not find anyone else more committed. I would most definitely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam. It was very helpful, but Dr. Tom can’t do it all. If a student wants to pass on the first try, they need to put in the 250-300 hrs of quality prep time that Dr. Tom recommends.”
– Patrick P. PE, 25 yrs out of college

“After putting off the PE for almost 15 years, becoming a licensed professional engineer became a necessity for my current position. Referred to Dr. Tom’s ME PE Review course by our Vice President, Troy Byers, Dr. Tom helped me not only with the test but also helped me gain the confidence in my own abilities to let go of my apprehension of the test. He will teach you not only how to solve the problem but help you understand the principles and concepts so that you can tackle not just the test but apply your knowledge to any real world application. Dr. Tom is a teacher and a mentor, and if you let him, he can help motivate you to do your part in passing the exam. Thanks Dr. Tom.”
– Avery Darren Lapish, PE, TBE, Palmetto Air & Water Balance, Raleigh, North Carolina

DTC Course Flexibility

“I took the exam several times and even took a class, but it wasn’t until I found this online classroom that I was able to finally pass. This style and organization was exactly what I needed, not to mention I just had a baby on top of taking the course. I wish I would have started with this program in the very beginning. Thank you Thank you!!!”
– Ashley Ryan Pardo, PE, Houston, Texas

“I’m 10 years out of school with 3 kids under 3 and a full time job in project management. DTC gave me a plan, helped me prioritize the key areas of study, not get bogged down into too much subject-matter detail, and spend my time effectively. The PRN’s were most helpful. I think the structured approach of developing them, organizing them, ensuring you have material for everything was key to success. Due to all the work put in in developing them, I did not end up using them much during the exam because I knew most of the material off-hand. That being the key to passing. I also liked the flexibility of video on demand. Most of my studying was done late at night. Watching Dr Tom’s YouTube videos on how to approach the exam, he recommends the Thermo/Fluids test. I was very weak in Thermodynamics in school. Learning thermodynamics well enough to pass a test when I had such little foundation to build on was a big concern. Dr Tom’s approach to thermodynamics and his ability to explain things very clear and concise was a huuuuge help! The thermo questions on the test were cake. Dr. Tom’s teaching is humorous and relatable. I loved how Dr Tom would explain the theory, and then relate it to why/how it’s actually useful…. So helpful when learning. I would absolutely recommend Dr. Tom’s 20-Week Review to others preparing for the ME PE Exam. It’s priced right, and has great content.”
– Lance Way, PE, Chevron Phillips Chemical, Texas

“I’ve been out of school for 17 years, but felt increasingly compelled to pursue the PE. Once my exam application was accepted I knew that finding a study resource was critical for me. I’m a father with two young children and a demanding job. I wasn’t going to be able to commit hours mid-day or on the weekend to studying. I found the Dr. Tom course after researching PE exam study aids. The initial testimonials grabbed my attention, and after watching your exam strategy videos I felt instantly confident that this was the right program for me. The structure and organization provided by the course, your frank commentary on what or what not to study, your logic for taking the thermal/fluids pm concentration, and your comforting demeanor in the videos were all critical in my success. I can’t comment on any other study programs out there, but I can say with complete certainty that the Dr. Tom program ensured my ability to pass the exam. I can’t thank you enough!”
– Aaron John Tippie, PE, Westwood Professional Services, Inc., San Antonio, Texas

“Being nearly 20 years out of college, I was VERY intimidated to attempt the PE exam. I can say with absolute certainty that Dr. Tom’s review course was the key to my success. The organized approach (study schedule, practice problem selection, and reference binder structure) allowed me to focus on learning the content for the exam instead of wasting time trying to figure those out on my own and just studying the MERM. I was doubtful that I could get back up to speed on so many of the subjects that I spent years studying in college, but it worked!

I initially was planning to attend a live class offered by another company. However, sitting through 4 days in a row of 8 hour classes (for three weekends) did NOT appeal to me or fit my learning style. Tackling it at MY pace and on MY schedule (weekday lunch and evenings, weekends), focusing on solving examples, and shoring up trouble areas before progressing to new lessons was the only way I could effectively learn the material. Doing, not merely watching is the key for me. Having the same teacher across all subjects was also a plus, as was the fact that Dr. Tom’s classes are less expensive.

Dr. Tom’s Fast Track Review has an aggressive schedule. However, I worked hard (30-40 hours a week) to “knock off the rust” my skills had collected over the years and get caught up. The classes reminded me of college lectures, except focusing on the applications instead of developing equations. Let’s just say I was even knocking the rust off of my ALGEBRA skills when I began the course and still covered enough ground to not only pass but score a “B” on the exam.

I would recommend Dr. Tom’s Reviews, but due to time demands of the Fast Track Review, for those juggling work and family responsibilities, the 20-Week Review may prove a better fit. But I can’t argue with the results!”
– Brent V., PE, Houston, Texas

Years After College

“Prior to selecting Dr. Tom’s program, I read a testimonial that could have been me: 50 something years old, 30 years since my freshman year of college, and 2 prior unsuccessful attempts to pass the PE exam. I chose Dr. Toms program because of the reasonable price, military discount, and an accelerated curriculum that fit my schedule. While the course does require a significant time commitment, passing the PE exam was well worth the effort. I highly recommend Dr. Toms course.” 
– Gary Johnson, PE, Vear, Inc., Birmingham, Alabama

“Dr Tom’s course was valuable in helping me prepare and pass the exam. I have been out of school for 15 years, I have an electrical engineering degree, and family obligations. The MERM and Dr Tom’s structured material was all I needed to master the subjects and pass the exam. Thank you Dr Tom for your help and I would absolutely recommend your review course!”
– A.S., PE, Kansas

“Dr Tom’s was an invaluable program. I’ve been out of school for over 20 years and needed to re-learn a lot of the material. His teaching style took very complex concepts and laid the material out in a straight forward fashion with a systematic approach to solve the problems. His methodology gave me structure for studying that I would not have been able to achieve on my own.  His organizational approach to the reference material was a huge time saver and assistance during the exam. Thank you Dr Tom for putting a great program together.”  
– Lori Van der Voort, PE, Abington, Pennsylvania

“I passed on my first try – 51 years old, military veteran, and 29 years since I passed the EIT exam.  I was getting nowhere trying to prepare on my own.  I bought some references and materials and attempted to work through them, but my confidence suffered.  I felt like I forgot what I learned as soon as I moved on to another topic.  Dr. Tom helped me focus my efforts, cutting out things not likely to impact the test.  I truly enjoyed Dr. Tom’s online presence and encouragement.  His approach built my confidence steadily from beginning to end.  He is a gifted and enthusiastic teacher who comes alongside you with empathy and humor.  I started a few weeks late in the 20-week thermal/fluids review course, but caught up without too much difficulty.  Even if I hadn’t passed, I was sure that my chances would be good with more effort using Dr. Tom’s approach.”
– Andrew Miller, PE

“I thought the Fast Track Review Course was excellent.  It provided the structure, practice, and review that I needed 25 years after receiving my M.E. degree.  I loved Dr. Tom’s teaching – his style & strategy tips made the learning process very enjoyable.  The class format and hand-outs were also excellent.  I  would strongly recommend it to others taking the ME PE exam.”
– Joel Lemke, PE, Emerson, Chanhassen, Minnesot

“If you don’t read my entire testimonial – here is the “bottom line upfront:” Look no further!

Like many other folks, I had previously taken the Mechanical PE exam without a great deal of structure.  In fact, after two unsuccessful attempts in the mid 1990’s – I placed professional registration on hold – uncertain if I would ever try again.  However, with life and work ever-changing, it became clear that professional registration would be a benefit. 

Needless to say – I passed the Mechanical Thermal/Fluids exam and a great deal of credit goes to Dr. Tom and the course.  If you work the program, watch the lectures, do the problems, participate in the weekly discussions, prepare the personalized resource notebooks, and use the participant forum…..you will pass the exam.  This structure, organization, and commitment are why this program is so successful and I will be recommending this to my colleagues. Thank you Dr. Tom and your entire staff.”
  – Neil Martin, PE (LTC (Retired – US Army)),  Veolia Water Technologies, Naperville, Illinois

“I’ve been out of school for 17 years, but felt increasingly compelled to pursue the PE. Once my exam application was accepted I knew that finding a study resource was critical for me. I’m a father with two young children and a demanding job. I wasn’t going to be able to commit hours mid-day or on the weekend to studying. I found the Dr. Tom course after researching PE exam study aids. The initial testimonials grabbed my attention, and after watching your exam strategy videos I felt instantly confident that this was the right program for me. The structure and organization provided by the course, your frank commentary on what or what not to study, your logic for taking the thermal/fluids pm concentration, and your comforting demeanor in the videos were all critical in my success. I can’t comment on any other study programs out there, but I can say with complete certainty that the Dr. Tom program ensured my ability to pass the exam. I can’t thank you enough!”
– Aaron John Tippie, PE, Westwood Professional Services, Inc., San Antonio, Texas

“It had been 18 years since I graduated with my BSME, and I knew I had a huge challenge ahead of me to review and re-learn all the necessary material. I had tried just studying from the “big blue book,” and I had looked into other review courses as well. I chose Dr. Tom having seen how he presented material in his sample videos. Once I began the course, I knew I had made the right decision. Dr. Tom will focus your study on what you need to know, he will take the time to explain those elements which are challenging, and he will be there all the way through to exam day. The materials that Dr. Tom provides are invaluable during the exam! I honestly believe that I could not have passed the exam without Dr. Tom’s teaching, guidance and strategy. Dr. Tom should be your #1 resource for exam preparation!”
– Mike R., PE, Atlanta, GA

“Being nearly 20 years out of college, I was VERY intimidated to attempt the PE exam. I can say with absolute certainty that Dr. Tom’s review course was the key to my success. The organized approach (study schedule, practice problem selection, and reference binder structure) allowed me to focus on learning the content for the exam instead of wasting time trying to figure those out on my own and just studying the MERM. I was doubtful that I could get back up to speed on so many of the subjects that I spent years studying in college, but it worked!

I initially was planning to attend a live class offered by another company. However, sitting through 4 days in a row of 8 hour classes (for three weekends) did NOT appeal to me or fit my learning style. Tackling it at MY pace and on MY schedule (weekday lunch and evenings, weekends), focusing on solving examples, and shoring up trouble areas before progressing to new lessons was the only way I could effectively learn the material. Doing, not merely watching is the key for me. Having the same teacher across all subjects was also a plus, as was the fact that Dr. Tom’s classes are less expensive.

Dr. Tom’s Fast Track Review has an aggressive schedule. However, I worked hard (30-40 hours a week) to “knock off the rust” my skills had collected over the years and get caught up. The classes reminded me of college lectures, except focusing on the applications instead of developing equations. Let’s just say I was even knocking the rust off of my ALGEBRA skills when I began the course and still covered enough ground to not only pass but score a “B” on the exam.

I would recommend Dr. Tom’s Reviews, but due to time demands of the Fast Track Review, for those juggling work and family responsibilities, the 20-Week Review may prove a better fit. But I can’t argue with the results!”
– Brent V., PE, Houston, Texas

“Preparing to take the PE exam 20+ years out of an undergraduate program is a daunting task. What information is relevant? What strategy should one follow? Perhaps most importantly, where does one begin? I was happy to find Dr. Tom’s course as it provided me with a more relaxed window of study (20 weeks) necessary to focus on relearning and practicing lost knowledge. The courses are concise, and his notebooks contain the necessary formulas with just enough background information for wide-ranging applicability. The way in which Dr. Tom organizes the material is particularly useful when it comes to exam day where you’ll want to minimize time spent searching in favor of maximizing solution time. This course, coupled with some practice examinations will ensure your success.”
– Scott Rapoport, PhD, PE, San Diego, California

“I have a unique insight to Dr. Tom’s philosophy on exam preparation. I attended NC State University about 20 years ago where Dr. Tom was my instructor in an instrumental review class intended to get one ready for the FE exam. He was able to sum up four years of education in a succinct way that most people cannot. He got me ready to pass the FE on the first try.
Jump forward a couple of decades and I had let life get in the way of sitting for the PE exam. Being out of school that long, I certainly was not prepared to jump into a rigorous 8-hour exam that would encompass my career and many items I had left behind as a distant memory years ago.
Discovering that Dr. Tom had taken his class to the land of cables and keyboards, I was very relieved. I knew that if anyone could get me ready again, it would be Dr. Tom. Starting the class, I immediately knew it was the same old Dr. Tom. No nonsense, make the plan, work the plan kind of guy. He is the kind of guy that knows what a slug is, and knows when you should use it. If you want a plan that will put you on the track to first time success, Dr. Tom is your man.”
– William Lowery II, PE, UNC Cogeneration Systems, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

“I highly recommend anyone contemplating the ME PE exam consider Dr. Tom’s 20 week PE Review Course. I passed the exam on my first try in April 2014 after completing the online-only course over the winter. Dr. Tom’s Exam Day Companion was my main (almost exclusive) reference. I only used the Mechanical Engineering Review Manual for its tables and figures. In fact, these were the only two books I opened during the entire exam. I’m sure many candidates have passed without the level of support Dr. Tom provides. Unfortunately, at 20 years out of school, I needed a structure to optimize my time studying. Dr. Tom’s course provided all that and more.”
– Jim Haddock, PE, B&V, Overland Park, Kansas

“I have been out of college 24 years and have been twice unsuccessful taking the ME PE Machine Design exam. After reviewing Dr. Tom’s strategies, I decided to take his prep class for the Thermo and Fluids afternoon exam. The next step was to start reviewing. Dr. Tom provided a 20 week review schedule and weekly “Live Online” classes. Dr. Tom went over the lesson plan for the particular subject, provided sample exam problems to work in class as well as out of class. He always made time to answer questions. I definitely recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom ME PE Exam Review!”
– Glenn Bailey, PE, Pensacola, Florida

“Dr. Tom’s class helped me immensely. Before beginning the process, I really worried how I would fare with academia I had neglected for the better part of 10 years or how I would manage the necessary study time with all my other obligations. Through use of Dr. Tom’s syllabus, I was able to focus my studies to those subjects necessary for successful examination versus blindly studying the Mechanical Engineers Reference Manual page by page. All in all, dedication to the process and study of the appropriate material is necessary for success, but the support of Dr. Tom’s prep course gets at least part of the credit for my success. I would recommend Dr. Tom’s Classroom to anyone interested in successfully navigating through PE examination preparation. Thanks Dr. Tom!”
– R. Neal Grainger P.E., NC State ’02, BSCHE, Wilmington, North Carolina

“After putting off the PE for almost 15 years, becoming a licensed professional engineer became a necessity for my current position. Referred to Dr. Tom’s ME PE Review course by our Vice President, Troy Byers, Dr. Tom helped me not only with the test but also helped me gain the confidence in my own abilities to let go of my apprehension of the test. He will teach you not only how to solve the problem but help you understand the principles and concepts so that you can tackle not just the test but apply your knowledge to any real world application. Dr. Tom is a teacher and a mentor, and if you let him, he can help motivate you to do your part in passing the exam. Thanks Dr. Tom.”
– Avery Darren Lapish, PE, TBE, Palmetto Air & Water Balance, Raleigh, North Carolina

“The ME PE exam is a “mental marathon” and a major undertaking for anyone, especially someone like myself who had been out of school for 30 years. I signed up for Dr. Tom’s ME PE Review course in preparation for the April 2010 exam, and passed on my first try. I attribute this to Dr. Tom’s Classroom for reinforcing basic engineering fundamentals which were lost in my mind. His encouragement, knowledge of PPI’s MERM, and basic drilling of problems was invaluable in my success. I would recommend his classes to anyone who is planning on taking their PE exam.”
– Michael Sulva, PE, GE-Hitachi, New Units Engineering – ESBWR, Wilmington, North Carolina

CELEBRATING WITH NEW PAYMENT OPTIONS – Lower Prices + Longer Access

READY TO PURCHASE YOUR COURSE?

GO STRAIGHT TO ONE OF OUR CATALOGS.

Dr Tom's logo